Printable Version

About SALEM & Episode Guides

About SALEM & Episode Guides

Salem Premiered on WGN America on March 25, 2014

About the Show:
Set in 17th century colonial Massachusetts—a significant time in the history of American politics, religion and society—Salem brings you the real story behind the infamous witch trials. In Salem, witches are real, and they’re behind it all.

Salem Village and Salem Town feuded over property, grazing rights and church rights. The government was dominated by Puritan leaders. People were scrutinized closely and this resulted in obvious discord. They were afraid of being persecuted for anything that may offend the Puritan mindset. The word “witch” seemed an easy and appropriate curse hurled at someone who behaved abnormally.

It was this setting of extremism and isolation that led to a period of witch hunts, where men and women were hanged and burnt at the stake with the belief that they, as witches, had taken to Satan over God.

Were the Puritans right in their actions? Were the people innocent? Who were the real witches?   

In WGN America’s new series Salem, we are led into a dark and mystical period of American history. In Salem, the witches are a part of day-to-day life, but they are not who or what they seem to be. Mary Sibley (Janet Montgomery) is the most powerful witch of Salem. She is the wife of George Sibley (Michael Mulheren), the ailing, wealthy head of the Selectmen of Salem. Leading a double life, Mary depends on her faithful servant and friend, Tituba (Ashley Madekwe), a mysterious and ageless accomplice to carry out her agenda. Mary is ruthless, yet vulnerable; her world is torn into two when Salem’s native son, John Alden (Shane West) returns after many years at war. John and Mary were lovers before he left the Puritan town of Salem.

John, a war veteran, takes on the role of being the voice of reason in a town that is obsessed with witch hunts and unexplained phenomena. He realizes that suspicion and fear result in innocent people being victimized. On the contrary, Cotton Mather (Seth Gabel) is a well-educated local aristocrat who fans the flames of Salem’s witch hunt.

John and Mary find themselves in the middle of an epic romance, even as Cotton’s witch hunts engulf the town in hysteria, horror, and the supernatural.

The real story of Salem emerges from the foggy depths of history on April 20th, 10/9c, only on WGN America.


Actor’s name

Character’s name

Janet MontgomeryMary Sibley
Shane WestJohn Alden
Seth GabelCotton Mather
Tamzin MerchantAnne Hale
Ashley MadekweTituba
Elise EberleMercy Lewis
Iddo GoldbergIsaac Walton
Xander BerkeleyMagistrate Hale

Link to discussion thread

Watch It Here

How to become a VIP Member.


Season 1

Episode 1: The Vow (Apr/20/2014)
John Aiden discovers upon returning from war that the woman he was seeing is now married to someone else. He also discovers that his hometown of Salem is in a state of panic, with locals convinced witches live amongst them.

Episode 2: The Stone Child (Apr/27/2014)
Fears grow in Salem that witches are around, so John investigates what's really going on. Mary puts her plans into action.

Episode 3: In Vain (May/04/2014)
Mary comes to a decision about A course of action after she discoveres who witnessed the witches' ceremony.

Episode 4: Survivors (May/11/2014)
Alden is concerned that a old nemesis' arrival in Salem could destroy him when they expose his secrets. Mary loses control of Mercy.

Episode 5: Lies (May/18/2014)
Aiden and Cotton get involved with a dangerous relic. Mary and her coven have a disagreement.

Episode 6: The Red Rose And The Briar (May/25/2014)
Alden and Cotton find themselves coming face-to-face with a real witch whilst Mary thinks of a solution to the conflict within the coven.

Episode 7: Our Own Private America (Jun/01/2014)
Mary and Alden's feelings for one another increase. Cotton has to deal with a unique accusation during the trials.

Episode 8: Departures (Jun/08/2014)
After Cotton's father shows up it rocks the town of Salem. Mary's power over George ends up being compromised.

Episode 9: Children Be Afraid (Jun/15/2014)
Mercy isn't afraid of using her new power. Mary can't seem to get George back under her control.

Episode 10: The House of Pain (Jun/22/2014)
Increase becomes more aware of who is in charge. Whilst Anne is investigating a mystery, she finds herself in a dangerous situation, needing Aiden's help.

Episode 11: Cat and Mouse (Jun/29/2014)
Anne learns the truth about her father. Aiden has to face more accusations.

Episode 12: Ashes, Ashes (Jul/06/2014)
Aiden's trial begins, testing everyones alliances and allegiances.

Episode 13: All Fall Down (Jul/13/2014)
Aiden learns a huge secret that Mary has been keeping from him.